Top 6 Healthcare Administration Certifications

In this guide, you’ll find a list of health administrator certifications that upscale your career. Those with similar training can also get any of them to prove their competency to potential employers.

We will also discuss the eligibility criteria and the cost of obtaining these credentials.

Health Administrator Certification

One of the most lucrative and satisfying occupations in medicine is health admin.

People passionate about operations and finance in the hospital and public health industries should pursue this career. However, most companies and hospitals hiring these specialists have strict requirements.

Therefore, it becomes mandatory to motivate employees by earning the best qualifications in clinical admin.

Obtaining a professional qualification will prove your competency in a specific skill set. It will also show your devotion to lifelong learning, networking with other professionals, and more.

  • Understanding Health Administrator Certification

This credential displays health admins’ knowledge, abilities, expertise, and competencies to potential employers. You can get your desired job in the healthcare industry by holding any certificate.

Clinical agencies provide HA validation for experts wanting to advance their careers.

But before laying hands on one of these documents, you must meet certain conditions. These include passing the qualification exams and satisfying the eligibility conditions.

In most cases, you’ll be required to have some years of work experience and academic attainment.

Best Certifications for Healthcare Administrators

This section will highlight the many qualifications you can obtain to demonstrate your worth to employers. Without any delay, let’s check them out.

  • Certified Medical Manager (CMM)

CMM is the ideal award for you if you want something less challenging. The document is available from PAHCOM. It showcases the wellness office staff’s knowledge, abilities, and experience.

You need at least two years of expert training to qualify for this credential. To support patient care or other clinical contexts, this experience is required.

Additionally, you must possess 12 college credits in hospital or business management-related subjects.

The CMM attestation exam has 200 multiple-choice questions that must be completed in under three hours. Questions are obtained from 18 domains of medical practice admin.

These include human resources, finance, revenue oversight, contract leadership, business executives, and more.

  • Fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives (FACHE)

The ACHE offers this attestation.

It’s awarded to those interested in management, finance & operations, and IT. The credential demonstrates their competency in areas of the discipline. Plus, their commitment to change and improve the entire industry.

To be eligible for this certificate, you must have spent three years as an ACHE member, faculty associate, or foreign associate.

You must also hold a master’s degree and 36 credit hours of continuing education in this field. Those who have held executive clinical leadership positions for at least five years can apply.

The certification exams consist of 230 questions to be completed in six hours. It cost around $250. Candidates can sit for the examination as often as needed during their two-year application eligibility period.

Meanwhile, you’ll be required to renew your credential after a certain period.

While renewing this document, there are certain conditions that you must satisfy. These include paying a renewal fee, completing some hours of continuous education, and more.

  • Certified Professional in Digital Health Transformation Strategy (CPDHTS)

This is an internationally recognized credential given to individuals with the knowledge and skills.

This is to effectively lead and navigate the complex digital landscape of the hospital industry. The HIMSS offers the qualification. It’s well-recognized among several employers across the country.

Before receiving this paper, a few criteria must be met. These demands include a bachelor’s or graduate degree and at least three to five years of relevant experience.

Those having ten or more years of clinical practice in HIT settings are also qualified.

The exams contain 150 multiple-choice questions and must be answered in less than two hours. For HIMSS organizational members, the exam costs around $1,579.

After receiving the credential, you must renew it every two years.

Until then, 45 continuing education credits must be done, and a $4299 renewal fee must be paid. More details can be obtained from the organization’s official web page.

  • Certified Professional in Health Care Risk Management (CPHRM)

CPHRM is a public qualification issued by the AMA and ASHCRM. The credential ranks highest in-hospital risk oversight and is considered essential for many top jobs in the field.

The position requires seven years of experience, a baccalaureate degree, and at least five years of clinical experience from an accredited institution.

The certificate requires a high school diploma and nine years of experience. The exam, consisting of 110 questions, takes two hours and costs $275 for HA members and $425 for non-members.

You must complete 45 continuing education credits every three years to keep your credential. There are other conditions you’ll need to satisfy outside those, as mentioned earlier.

  • Registered Health Information Administrator (RHIA)

Do you want to prove your knowledge and ability in informatics?

Then, consider getting this certification. AHIMA offers it. You must hold a bachelor’s degree in HIM to qualify for this certification. However, such credentials must be obtained from a CAHIIM-accredited facility.

The certification test consists of 170 to 200 questions from different domains, including data content, structure, protection, and more.

Before sitting for the exam, you’ll be required to pay $229, whether you are an AHIMA member or not. You’ll be expected to renew your credential every two years by completing 30 continuing education credits.

  • Certified Healthcare Administrative Professional (cHAP)

This credential is ideal for hospital industry admins, showcasing their knowledge, skills, and experience in the field. The AHAP provides it, but you must satisfy specific criteria to be eligible for this qualification.

The demands for membership include a minimum of seven years of clinical admin experience, an associate degree, and excellent standing in AHCAP for at least five years.

There are many other certifications for healthcare administrators besides those we listed above. They include CHC, CFHP, CRCE, CHFP, CPHQ, and CHAM.

You can choose any of these credentials to improve your career level. Before then, you should do more research on their qualifying criteria.

Doing so lets you make informed decisions about senior and entry-level healthcare administration jobs.